Books for ULTIMATE HEALTH

So you’ve tried every diet possible, you’ve taken every supplement, fasted, cleansed, you tried working out but nothing is working. I get it. Now, it took me sometime to actually understand these types of people but that’s why I’m writing this. What happened is I some how became one of these people. If I were to write this when I was around 16 when I first started to personally train people you would be reading something completely different. I knew there was no book on working out that’d actually do you any good. In fact, I hadn’t read a single book on fitness or nutrition up until the past 3 years. Over those three years  read over 100+ books on the topic… You see, when I was very young I was an athlete and unconsciously into fitness and a healthy life. Around the ages of 15-21 I was a total addict, I worked out twice a day 7 days a week. I practiced hardcore dieting, supplement intake, and was loving it! I was lucky. In fact, if you didn’t have the desire to be healthy I knew there was no point. Fast-forward, I have come to realize for whatever reason (relationships, losses, failures, stress) we can get a weird wiring in our psychology that turns our desires and actions into a total mess. We WANT health but we don’t take the actions. Why is that? We go buy the books, seek out a coach and even still after loads of money spent we can’t commit. It took me reading over 100 books and taking limited action to understand WHY we do this. Well, teenage trainer Nick would have said you’re screwed, or just tried to force fitness and healthy down your throat like a Biggest Loser coach. Was it effective? Sure. I was able to make enough people feel like such crap about their current conditions that it actually made them feel enough pain in their current condition to train. I know it sounds so harsh but looking back and comparing that approach to my approach now I have been able to see what really works and what doesn’t. And in a nut shell there isn’t a one-size fits all. What is universal is “leverage”. What I mean is that you have to feel enough pain to want change and have enough excitement to go through any pain to see your goals come to pass; to say the least. This being said I have discovered some incredible books. After all those books I found some that can actually help you achieve your health and wellness goals. Some of these are nutrition/fitness specific but all of them will help you create momentum to actually take action, inspire you if you will.  And even more, assist you in following through for you unique life and desires. To cap this off, I learned action is huge toward your health goals but it is important to build the psychology to supports your healthy lifestyle. I encourage you to explore beyond what your eating and to analyze your thoughts, your beliefs, your emotional eating patterns, relationships and grey areas of your life that might be keeping you from ultimate health. I hope you guys pick up one or two of these books this summer and apply some knew healthy habits!

A little tip before you dive into more knowledge; Information is nothing without the action to back it.

Happy reads
Nick

Books for REAL health:

  • The Power of Now – Eckhart Tole

The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment

This book is number one on my list for a reason. It seriously will change you. It doesn’t matter what your life goals are, this book will transform you into a better version of whatever you are. This book has helped people like Oprah and more overcome depression and find a higher place in life when she seemed to have it all. I can say it had the same affect on me and with reading this book I have become a better friend, coach, musician and family member. I cannot recommend this book more. Recommend to me by a good friend, I am forever grateful. I hope I can be that person to recommend this life changing book to you!

  • How to Eat, Move, and Be Healthy – Paul Chek

How to Eat, Move and Be Healthy!

If there is one book that has it all this is the one. Learn to adapt these holistic lifestyle changes and you will always experience health. You will learn to eat for your specific metabolic type and heal yourself through nutrition, exercise and sleep no matter what condition you’re in!

  • Guide to Growing Younger – Donna Gates

Healthy Living Books
Ultimate Anti-Aging book EVER! I won’t lie, applying these rules is not easy. I was lucky enough to have the drive to apply a lot of them at the risk of obtaining a lot of dogma. The truth of the matter is this; if you follow these principles like daily consuming fermented foods, eating your fats raw, food combining, etc. you will experience a DRAMATIC positive result. Miricles happen when these principles are applied. I have seen hair grow back on people, horrible acne turn into flawless skin, cancer destroyed and mood disorders complete reversed.

  • The Magic – Rhonda Byrne

The Magic (The Secret)

This is another one of those books that will change the entire quality of your life. In my experience health is so beyond nutrition and exercise. It’s even beyond positive thinking. The basis of this book is the magic of Gratitude. It has been taken advantage of for life times and once you read this you will understand how much you can have with practicing Gratitude. I promise you, if you can be more thankful for what you have, you WILL see more come to pass. This book is the guide to gratitude; which will bring you health, wealth, happiness, and love.

  • The Primal Blueprint – Mark Sisson

The Primal Blueprint: Reprogram your genes for effortless weight loss, vibrant health, and boundless energy (Primal Blueprint Series)

What can I say… Mark Sisson is THE MAN. He’s 50 something and has a better body than me. This book is so simple and that’s the beauty of it. Health, wellness, and just about everything is so simple. It’s my strong opinion we have over complicated things and are paying the price. With the help of this book you can start simplifying your life again! Getting back to your primal roots and I swear it works. We all need to be a little more primal. The foods we eat, the way we interact with people and even squatting over sitting! These simple principles will dramatically change your health for the better! This is by far one of my favorites!

  • The 9 Intense Experiences – Brian Vaszily

The 9 Intense Experiences: An Action Plan to Change Your Life Forever

The amazon reviews on this are so on point. I found this book through Body Ecology and at such a perfect time. When exercise, nutrition, even meditation and massive action towards goals aren’t enough this book comes to the rescue. The best chapter is definitely chapter two. Brian walks you through experiences that are totally free to do, things like forgiving your past relationships, healing family ties that have been broken, and even befriending a tree! Brian helps you get into those places of life that we’ve been ignoring and it truly creates a phenomenal healing transformation. This book secured my opinion that our health problems are beyond genetics, nutrition and cardio…You would be amazed how a tooth ache could be a physical result of that broken relationship with your father…If your feeling pain anywhere in your life and want to get to the root I recommend this uplifting, fun and creative read!

Leave a Reply

